Daniel Kinumbe and Mathieu Choinière will participate in the 2019 MLS Homegrown Game

The team will face Chivas de Guadalajara’s U20s on July 30

MONTREAL – As part of the MLS All-Star celebrations, defender Daniel Kinumbe and midfielder Mathieu Choinière were selected to participate in the MLS Homegrown Game on July 30, 5pm, at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex, near Orlando. The young players from MLS will face the Chivas de Guadalajara U20 team, champion of the Liga MX U20 league.

Kinumbe, aged 20, made his MLS debut with the Impact on June 5 against the Seattle Sounders FC, earning his first professional start. He joined the first team on November 16 after three seasons with the club’s academy.

Choinière, also 20 years old, played 13 Impact games this season, including five starts and 551 minutes. Currently in his second MLS season, Choinière has now played a total of 18 games and 633 minutes. He also took part in a Canadian Championship game in 2018.

Goalkeeper Maxime Crépeau and striker Anthony Jackson-Hamel also took part in the MLS Homegrown game, in 2015 and 2016 respectively. Ballou Tabla was then invited in 2017 but couldn’t participate because of an injury.

The MLS All-Star Game will be played the following day, on Wednesday, July 31, at 8pm, against Atlético Madrid, from La Liga, at the Exploria Stadium in Orlando (TVA Sports, TSN).

2019 MLS Homegrown Team Roster

Goalkeepers: Matt Freese (Philadelphia Union), David Ochoa (Real Salt Lake), Mason Stajduhar (Orlando City SC)

Defenders: Aboubacar Keita (Columbus Crew SC),Daniel Kinumbe (Montreal Impact), Erik McCue (Houston Dynamo), Noble Okello (Toronto FC), Donovan Pines (D.C. United), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas)

Midfielders: Brenden Aaronson (Philadelphia Union), Cole Bassett (Colorado Rapids), Mathieu Choinière (Montreal Impact), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City), Edwin Cerrillo (FC Dallas), Thomas Roberts (FC Dallas), Brandon Servania (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Theo Blair (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Handwalla Bwana (Seattle Sounders FC), Omir Fernandez (New York Red Bulls), Benji Michel (Orlando City SC), Justin Rennicks (New England Revolution)