Champ Can

2018 Canadian Championship schedule unveiled

MONTREAL – The Canadian Soccer Association unveiled on Thursday the schedule for the 11th Canadian Championship.

Following the 2017 MLS regular season standings, the Impact (third seed) will face the Vancouver Whitecaps FC (second) in the tournament semi-final on Wednesday, July 18 at Stade Saputo, and on Wednesday, July 25 at BC Place, in Vancouver.

In the other semi-final, Toronto (first) will face the winner of the second qualification round between USL club Ottawa Fury FC (fourth) and the winner of the first qualification round.

The 2018 edition of the Canadian Championship will feature an additional qualifying round with PLSQ champions AS Blainville hosting League1 Ontario (L1O) winners Oakville Blue Devils before traveling to play the return leg in Oakville.

The first leg of the final will be played on August 8 and the second leg will be played on August 15.

The Impact won the first edition of the tournament in 2008, as well as in 2013 and 2014. The last title led the team to the Champions League final against Mexican club América.

In 2018, the CONCACAF Champions League format will change to a single-elimination tournament with the winner qualifying for the 2018 FIFA Club World Cup.


June 6, 2018
First Qualifying Round - First leg
AS Blainville v Oakville Blue Devils

June 13, 2018
First Qualifying Round - Second leg
Oakville Blue Devils v AS Blainville

May 3, 2018
Second Qualifying Round - First leg
Winner 1QR v Ottawa Fury FC

May 10, 2018
Second Qualifying Round - Second leg
Ottawa Fury FC v Winner 1QR

July 18, 2018
Semi-final 1 - First leg
Montreal Impact v Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Semi-final 2 - First leg
Winner 2QR v. Toronto FC

July 25, 2018
Semi-final 1 - Second leg
Vancouver Whitecaps FC v Montreal Impact

Semi-final 2 - Second leg
Toronto FC v. Winner 2QR

August 8, 2018
Final - First leg

August 15, 2018
Final - Second leg