2017 Canadian Championship schedule unveiled

MONTREAL – The Canadian Soccer Association revealed on Thursday the schedule for the 10th Canadian Championship.

Following the 2016 MLS regular season standings, the Impact (2nd seed) will face the Vancouver Whitecaps FC (3rd) in the tournament semi-final on Tuesday, May 23 at BC Place in Vancouver, and on Tuesday, May 30 at Stade Saputo.

In the other semi-final series, Toronto (1st) will face the winner of the preliminary round between NASL club FC Edmonton (4th) and USL club Ottawa Fury FC (5th).

The first leg of the final will be played on June 20 or 21 and the second leg will be played on June 28.

In line with the launch of the new CONCACAF Champions League format, which places the Canadian representative directly in Phase II beginning in March 2018, a special one-match Canadian playoff between last year’s winners Toronto FC (unless Toronto FC repeats as Canadian winners) and the 2017 winners will be played on August 9 in Toronto to determine who will advance.

New to the Canadian Championship in 2017, Canada Soccer has added a Canadian Content rule ensuring that at least three Canadians are included on every starting lineup throughout the competition.

The Impact won the first edition of the tournament in 2008, as well as in 2013 and 2014. The last title led the team to the Champions League final against Mexican club América.


May 3, 2017

Preliminary round - First leg 
Ottawa Fury FC v. FC Edmonton

May 10, 2017 
Preliminary round - Second leg
FC Edmonton v. Ottawa Fury FC

May 23, 2017
Semi-final 1 - First leg 
Vancouver Whitecaps FC v. Montreal Impact
Semi-final 2 - First leg 
Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton v. Toronto FC

May 30, 2017
Semi-final 1 - Second leg 
Montreal Impact v. Vancouver Whitecaps FC

May 31, 2017
Semi-final 2 - Second leg 
Toronto FC v. Ottawa Fury FC/FC Edmonton

June 20/21, 2017 
Final - First leg
* Should the Impact qualify for the final, this match will be played on June 21

June 27, 2017
Final - Second leg