soccer ball ballon

Reserve League: Impact plays Red Bulls to scoreless draw

HANOVER, New Jersey – The Montreal Impact played the New York Red Bulls to a 0-0 tie on Sunday morning in Hanover, New Jersey, at the Red Bulls new training facility. Impact goalkeeper Evan Bush earned the shutout in the scoreless draw.

“It was a tough game under difficult and really hot conditions,” said Impact assistant coach Philippe Eullaffroy, who manages the bench in Reserve League games. “This was an all-around positive match for us. We didn’t give up any goals and managed a few opportunities, so it was encouraging for us moving forward this week.”

Bush made two big saves in the game’s first five minutes, stopping Lloyd Sam on a long distance shot in the 3rd minute as he got a fingertip on the ball, and then Amando Romeno on a point blank header following a cross into the box.

READ: 2013 Reserve League schedule

The Impact’s best chance of the first half came in the final few minutes as midfielder Zakaria Messoudi cut towards the half-circle and fired one from just inside-right of the box, but RBNY goalkeeper Ryan Meara punched it away, diving to his right.

Twenty-five minutes in the second half, Wandrille Lefèvre found another long distance strike after Maxim Tissot played a short corner, but the Meara made the save.

Sanna Nyassi broke into the box in the 84th minute, from the left flank, but his low blast from 8-yards-out was scooped up by Kevin Hartman, who came into the match in the 63rd minute.


MTL: GK – Evan Bush; D – Maxim Tissot, Wandrille Lefèvre, Karl W. Ouimette, Dennis Iapichino; M – Andres Romero (Yacine Ait-Slimane* 55’), Calum Mallace (Paolo DelPiccolo 55’), Collen Warner (Maxime Crépeau 85’’), Zakaria Messoudi, Sanna Nyassi; F – Andrew Wenger (Blake Smith 75’)

*Impact U21 player

NYRB: GK – Ryan Meara (Kevin Hartman 63’); D – Matt Miazga, Ibrahim Segaya (Conor Lade 45’), Brandon Tetro, Mauricio Casierra; M – Nico Muniz (Ian Christianson 73’), Michael Bustamante, Lloyd Sam (Malcolm Dixon 45’), Ruben Bover (Marius Obekop 75’); F – Amando Moreno, Andre Akpan

Subs not used:  Wes Wade